And the Home of the Brave

DeepRoots

IMG_0837

Pearl Harbor.

December 7, 1941.

I’ve read about it in history books. I’ve seen it in movies. But it didn’t become real until I visited Pearl Harbor in person. I remember mom and dad talking about where they were when they heard about the attack. I remember hearing the shock in their voices and even feeling shock myself. I’ve heard the President’s speech that December 7, 1941 would be a “date which will live in infamy.”

He was right.

Despite the crowds that were visiting the memorial, the museums, the ships that day, I felt alone. The people rarely spoke, or spoke in subdued tones. Even children were quiet. Everyone felt the weight of history in that place. Crowding out reality, my thoughts drifted to what it must have been like that day when over 350 planes kept coming, shooting, bombing the U.S. Navy. I tried to understand why it…

View original post 248 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

